Cherry Love

Cherries are my favourite fruit… berry… drupe… sweet thing that grows on a plant. Next to it are raspberries but I would toss aside a raspberry for a cherry any day. I once sat down and ate a couple pounds of cherries. It seemed like a good idea at the time. The next day I learned that it wasn’t a good idea.

Recently I was visiting my Mum, who is lovey and gracious and she asked me what my husband’s favourite flavour of pie was. She’s nice like, that asking what my husband wants/likes to make him feel welcome.

Since I’m such an amazing wife without skipping a beat I said “Cherry”. My Mum sort of gave me the side eye but didn’t say anything about it.

My husband likes cherry pie but he doesn’t love it. His favourite is blueberry but I have a thing about blueberry pies and can only stand them if they use fresh wild blueberries. The truth came out later that night about his true favourite and I just smiled and ate my cherry pie. Wife of the year!

I’ve been on a scone kick lately. I also have been addicted to the dried cherries that I found at the Wal-mart. I go through a bag of the cherries every couple days. I have only overdone it a couple times.

I’m addicted to Anna Olson’s currant scone recipe which I have tweaked to make it my own. Every time I make them they are a little different. I have been thinking about these ones for days.

Cherry Almond Scones (adapted from Anna Olson’s Currant Scones)

  • 3/4 cup butter cubed and chilled
  • 3 cups flour
  • 4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup milk plus milk to brush tops of the scones
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  1. Set oven to 400.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and lemon zest.
  3. Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or 2 knives until it is crumbly but you can still see chunks of butter
  4. Mix eggs and milk and add to flour/butter mixture. Mix with a wooden spoon until it comes together.
  5. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead gently to mix everything together. Then flatten out.
  6. Spread cherries and almonds over the surface.
  7. Note: this is the important step.  Fold the dough and spread it out and fold again (repeat this 3 or 4 times). Folding creates nice flaky layers and spreads out the cherries and almonds
  8. Shape into a square and roll out to a 8″x8″. Cut into squares and brush with milk.
  9. Bake for 15 min until they are golden brown.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

