Block of the week

I’m trying to set myself up for success. I am normally really good at setting myself up for failure so why not make 2014 different and do the opposite. I’m determined to make my 12 in 12 goal so I’ve done this. Each week I’m going to make a new quilt block or two from my scraps and at the end of the year I should have almost enough for 2 quilt tops. They are going to be crazy quilts for sure because I doubt my colour choices and block patterns are all going to go together. BUT my momma always said practice makes perfect so I will name these my practice quilts. AND an ugly quilt keeps you just as warm as a pretty quilt.

So here is week one’s block. full block

Not a bad block. The fabric choices are growing on me but I’m still not sure if I would have used these ones again. The placement is driving me batty. I was in a hurry and didn’t give it enough thought (silly me). I’m using a magazine of 100 blocks and I loosely followed their block design. That purple stripe diagonally down the middle is bugging me the most. First I have two of the same purple fabrics in the bottom two and that top right block needs to be flipped. It’s making me twitchy. I refuse, REFUSE to change it though because it will be a perfect reminder at the end of the year of how far I’ve come.

As I was making this I was patting myself on the back for how well everything was lining up.

spot on

 

Look at that middle block line up! Spot on!

tightAnd that one is great as well! It’s hard to tell because it’s not lying flat right there but it’s pretty much perfect.  Then I saw these….

so closeIt’s off. Darn it! There were many more like that too! I need to be better at my pinning and pay more attention to my seams as I sew. I flipped it over and this is what I saw.

offending seamI somehow flipped that middle seam while sewing… opps. So I think I’m going to make another one today to reinforce all that I learned… like PAY ATTENTION!

Now this child needs a lesson in respect. She just thinks she can push my block out of the way with her foot so I will listen to her wanting milk or food or something…. Mom of the year!

no respect

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

