THEY ARE LIVING MY DREAM!!!

Yesterday the weather was lovely. The sun was shining. The roads were dry. Basically the exact opposite of today. (Sidenote: I hear my neighbour snowblowing my sidewalk. I’ve never met him but he is my favourite neighbour. I shall bake him cookies some day!). I haven’t seen this much snow fall in awhile. I kind of like it. So on this lovely day yesterday I dropped the oldest at the daycare and buckled the youngest in for a road trip. We were just going down to the end the road an hour. It was a real road trip because we got lost, because the bridge was out. I was not prepared for unmarked detours.

We started off to visit Niagara Sewing Centre. My machines need love. I don’t trust the place close by as they took my serger for over 3 months!!! 3 months!! I wanted to check this place out and get a feel of the place. I am so glad I did. They are so helpful and friendly! They are moving to a new location at the end of the month and will be carrying Brother’s! I can’t wait! Momma needs a new embroidery machine! One HUGE plus was that they carry my favourite thread. I LOVE WonderFil Konfetti thread . It was my first quilting thread and I haven’t found another that I like as much. I moved away from my last supply location and have been trying to find another local distributor ever since. Yesterday I bought a box. There are 5 spools in a box. I use a lot of thread.

I like to do a lot localish. So since we were going out of town localish I decided to check out one fabric shop because why not? The first one that popped up was Bee Modern Fabrics &Yarn in Virgil ON. The website looked cute so I thought why not? It’s just outside of Niagara on the Lake and I had heard magical things about that place. After some extra turns and ill fated truck stop stop we made it to the shop. It looked cute from the outside but I was not prepared for the inside. No lie. I walked in and loved what I saw in the entry way and saw a room of yarn that some of my friends would poop their pants over but when I saw the fabric I died. It was like my fabric wish list in real life. I was stunned. I became useless. It was so beautiful and organized by colour. There was so much to see and I wanted it all. I was so overwhelmed that I couldn’t deal. I just couldn’t handle it. I walked around for 30 mins. Picked things up, put them down. I wanted to ask to move in or for a job or to be the shop mouse. I wanted to ask to take pictures but I was too scared. So I grabbed a bolt and asked for a 1/2 yard (they do yards and metres there!), paid, said I would be back and then left. It was just too much.

I picked this fabric.

d3dde210a54ab20c038658f3a2909f83

 

Happy Stripe in Blue part of the so Happy Together line by Deena Rutter for Riley Blake. It’s a cute fabric and will be useful but this shows how overwhelmed I was. This place was packed full of bright, beautiful and intense fabric and I got a muted stripe.

So I’m jealous of them. Like very jealous. They are living my dream. They have THE cutest shop full of happiness. I want that. I’m pretty sure I have a few friends who would want this dream with me. I want a shop. I want my dream fabrics in my hand. I want to close the shop at night and hug all the fabric (is that weird? I don’t care if it is weird).

Le Sigh.

6 thoughts on “THEY ARE LIVING MY DREAM!!!

  1. Hi Amanda, just stumbled upon your blog while googling the shop to check that our address had finally been switched over…Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! My sister Heide and I own Bee and are so happy that you enjoyed your visit! We’re really passionate about what we do and reaching so many awesome people like you to share our love with makes it all worthwhile! Don’t be shy and let us know the next time you come to visit, would love to chat with you!

    • Hi Monique! I will make a point of saying hello when I come back which will hopefully be soon! Your shop is beautiful and I wish I lived a bit closer so I could visit more often.

Leave a Reply

