Fabric Monday – Hawthorne Thread Haul

I shouldn’t be allowed to fabric shop online when I’m stressed. Or mad. I probably shouldn’t be allowed to fabric shop unsupervised. This is one of the last fun orders I’m allowed to put in for the year. It’s only May and I’ve been cut off! There is a good reason which I’m very excited about but I can’t share with you yet. The only way I can put in more fun orders like this is if I get a huge increase in quilt orders. Which I am happy to say seems to be happening. I have a Christmas order already!!!

I’ve declared this the summer of the dress! I have a hard time finding a dress that fits well. I just don’t get it, Fat Bottomed Girls are suppose to make this rocking world go around but they forgot to make dresses that fit us well. Either the top is too big and the dress doesn’t fit over my hips or it fits my hips but the top is way too big. I have cut the skirt liner out of so many dresses because the bottom actually fits but the designers put in a hip hugging skirt underneath and that is always too small. So I’m going to attempt to make a bunch of my own and I picked 4 fabrics but I’m not completely sure I will use each one in a dress.

IMG_9400

Art Gallery Fabrics, Urban Mod, Roundabout by in Night

I kind of really like those crazy circles!

IMG_9401

Alison Glass, Sun Print Feathers, Feathers in Rouge

I’ve been eyeing these feathers for awhile for a dress. I can already picture it in my head. Now to find a dress pattern that matches that vision.

IMG_9402

Pat Bravo, Essentials, Illusion in Dust

I’m not too sure if this pattern is just too much for a dress or not. I may sit on this one for a bit. I may have been better off getting this one in a knit if it came that way.

This next one I really love but I’m a little hesitant to make it a dress. Is it too much? Is it too old lady? It would make an awesome quilt back if it doesn’t make it into a dress.

IMG_9403

Art Gallery Fabrics, Floressence, Meadow Aroma in Splash

 

So the whole point of this order was to purchase some voile for the dresses. It is lighter weight and has a better drape. Everything else in the order was to fill the box so that my shipping costs were spread out over more fabric. Somehow I neglected to actually buy and voile. I put it in my cart and took it out. I thought I had left one in but I guess I didn’t. OPPS! So here is the rest of my fill the box order.

IMG_9396

Sweet as Honey Collection (Lt-Rt) Bee Sweet in Morning, Cherished Deer in Bergamot, Honey House in Peach, Orchard Blossom in Autumn and Orchard Blossom in Spring

 

 

I’ve been wanting some of this collection since before it came out. I love it even more in person! Bonnie Christine is spot on with this line. The colours are fabulous. I wish I had bought more!!!

I feel like this fabric needs to go into a very geometric quilt.

IMG_9393

Camelot Cottons House Designer, Penelope Collection (Lt – Rt) Greek Cross in Aqua, Waves in Aqua, Galley in Aqua and Baubles in Aqua

I was drawn to the above fabric because of the colours. The waves remind me of a chevron that I had before that I loved. The fabric just seemed so fresh and fun.

Next up we have Poppies! I know a particular someone out there is now thinking ‘what can I get Amanda to make for me with this?’. The answer is Anything you can dream of!

IMG_9390

Beth Studley, Meadow collection (Lt – Rt) Poppies in White, Stripe in Teal and Poppies in Gray

I fell in love with the gray poppies and then I had to add the white poppies and then you need a coordinate just in case. Right?

Ok these next ones are so pretty and soft!

IMG_9388

Pat Bravo, Essentials Collection (Lt – Rt) Passionate Spirit in Mist, Passionate Spirit in Salmon and Passionate Spirit in Teal

 

Are they a damask? I love the tiny repeat of the ornate bit. I love these!  The colours are perfect for the quilt I’m planning for Char Char. I can’t wait to start working on it!!

IMG_9387Next up we have some intersecting circles.

IMG_9383

Michael Miller House Designer, Mod Basics Collection (Lt – Rt) Tile Pile in Canary, Tile Pile in Dirt and Tile Pile in Sunset

Love these! The dirt and canary are so pretty but that sunset is amazing. It’s just the right colour of orange. Not in your face and not too washed out.

IMG_9384

I love fabric mail!

2 thoughts on “Fabric Monday – Hawthorne Thread Haul

  1. You cut off from spending more money on fabric because you have to save some extra money for baby #3?!!!!!!!!!! LOL, sorry I had to!

Leave a Reply

