12 in 12 – Katie’s Quilt

I’m including this quilt in my 12 in 12 even though it was started well before April (or 2014) started. Finishing a project is very satisfying especially if it has taken a very, very, very long time.

This Quilt was a wedding present for Brad and Katie when they got married in 2012. Yep 2012. To be fair they knew it was going to be late because Katie and I hadn’t even discussed real fabric choices until after the wedding. I ordered the fabric in the Fall 2012. So this quilt took me about 1.5 years. YIKES! Yes we are still friends.

Katie requested a Dresden Plate quilt. Here is a truth. I had no clue what she was talking about when she requested it. I had to google that. What kind of quilter am I? I hope they don’t kick me out of the club. Just kidding there isn’t a club. Wait is there club?

This quilt has taught me soooo much about quilting. I think my seam ripper spent more time on this project than all the other projects combined.

stack

Katie picked out this lovely bundle of fabric from The Intrepid Thread which has started a whole line of other purchases from The Intrepid Thread.  large print

I for sure learned that I need to figure out how much fabric I need for a project before starting. Good thing when I ran out I still could find more of the fabric which is a small miracle because it took me soooo long to cut the quilt from the purchase date.

belly

Look! There’s Chars still in my tummy! That feels like a lifetime ago. Aren’t the fabrics beautiful?

971850_575042759200902_1088570025_n

 

This quilt taught me a lot about chain sewing. So much quicker, easier and less thread.

62792_576216669083511_1831650275_nI still don’t have feeling in my finger tips from ironing these little suckers. Just kidding, kind of.

IMG_0221.JPG (2)

I also learned that you should do a test block just in case. Like just in case your plates look flat and that they will work but in reality they don’t.

IMG_1045

Just in case you make all the plates without checking and then have to take one ray out of each plate. Yep Rippy and I spent a lot of time together when I discovered that little mix up.

IMG_9357

Ahh look at that! It works! I found a new stitch on my machine for attaching the centers. Who knew I had a blanket stitch? Not me!

IMG_9355

I think I delayed on this quilt a bit because I was intimidated by the size. It’s a King. I wasn’t sure I could quilt that sucker on my machine. So I did some research and I learned how to quilt as you go.

IMG_9358

So I quilted each block onto squares of batting the size of the block without backing. Then stitched the blocks together and then added the back. That way I only had to quilt straight lines on my machine. The only draw back is you don’t get the beautiful quilting on they back.

IMG_9360

Just lines but still pretty. I also learned that quilting as you go makes your quilt smaller soooo I had to add a border which I think looks amazing.

IMG_9353

Congratulations Brad and Katie on your marriage almost 2 years late!

 

Leave a Reply

