2015

So we are a month into 2015 and so far I’m pretty pleased with it. I think 2015 is going to be a great year! I’ve taken a lot of time to stop and think about where I am, where I want to go and what is really important to me. The one thing that I keep coming back to is that I need to slow down. I always feel the need to do it all, to do more and to be everything to everyone. This year I’m trying to change that. I need to slow down and enjoy where I am, who I’m with and what cool things every moment has for me. A big part of this is that I’m learning how to say no to people or projects. I also need to keep reminding myself that to end up where I want to be I need to be present in the moment I am currently in. Anyway, enough with that crap, I was so busy last year with getting stuff done that I didn’t get to share a lot of what I actually accomplish. So here are some pictures from one of my favourite quilts this year.

238My friend contacted me and said she was looking for a wedding gift for a friend and would like a quilt made. She had some scraps from the wedding decoration to give me to incorporate into the quilt. So she sent them my way and gave me a few idea’s and told me to have fun!

183The box had some great, vibrant colours to work with so I went to my stash and started to build up coordinates to fill out the quilt. We had decided to go with Anna Maria Horner’s Feather Bed Quilt. It was perfect for a scrappy quilt and is always gorgeous.

photo (41)It took me a couple of miscuts to figure out how to get the feathers to cut out properly but once I got it it was smooth sailing.

Earlier that summer I had made a trip to purchase some fabric from a friend and had bought some Habitat Singing Forest fabric by Jay McCarroll. I just loved it. I’m not completely sure why but I was just drawn to it and knew it would make an awesome quilt back.

268

I wasn’t disappointed! This quilt was the perfect fit for it!

For the quilting I just decided to follow the direction of the feather vanes and surround each feather. On the back of the quilt then you would have an outline of each feather with no quilting within it. I forgot to take pictures of this. Here is a grainy close up of the front.

photo (40)b

I also decided to try cutting actual bias binding for the first time. This Riley Blake Happy Stripe fit the colours in the quilt perfectly!

il_340x270.443981967_3oyzNormally I just straight cut my binding but I knew cutting these stripes on the bias would be the perfect echo of the vanes in the feather.

IMG_3119The finished product just made me so happy. I equate the happiness of me finishing a quilt I’m absolutely in love with to what some people call a ‘runners high’. Let me tell you I do some running/jogging/moving my feet while gasping for air and I have never once felt ‘high’ or super happy after a run. Usually I just want a cheeseburger or a milkshake or to not move for a month. The feeling I get after finishing a great quilt keeps me going for days and this quilt kept me going for weeks.
photo (40)

Leave a Reply

